Header Ads Widget

ICS Image

Delhi Capitals History and Records | DC IPL History and Records

ICS pics

Delhi Capitals IPL History and Records | DC IPL T20 History and Records | Delhi Capitals history and records in ipl history

Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils) is a franchise cricket team that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is based in Delhi and represents the city in the IPL. The franchise was established in 2008, and over the years, the team has undergone several changes in ownership and branding. In this article, we will take a closer look at the history and records of the Delhi Capitals.

Delhi Capitals History and Records


The Delhi Capitals (DC) franchise was founded in 2008 as one of the eight original teams in the IPL. The team was owned by the GMR Group, a Bangalore-based infrastructure company. In their debut season, the team was captained by Virender Sehwag, and they finished at the fourth position on the points table.

Over the next few years, the team struggled to find consistency and failed to make it to the playoffs. In 2012, the team finished at the last position on the points table, and in 2013, they finished at the ninth position.

In 2014, the team was rebranded as the Delhi Daredevils (DD), with a new logo and team colors. They brought in South African batsman Gary Kirsten as the head coach, but the team's fortunes did not change much, as they finished at the seventh position in the points table.

In 2018, the GMR Group sold a 50% stake in the team to the JSW Group, and the team was renamed the Delhi Capitals. Under the new ownership, the team made significant changes to the squad and appointed former Australian captain Ricky Ponting as the head coach. In the 2019 season, the team finished at the third position in the points table, their best finish in the IPL till date.


The Delhi Capitals have set several records in the IPL over the years. Some of the notable ones are:

The highest team total in the IPL: In a match against the Mumbai Indians in 2017, Delhi Daredevils scored 231/4 in 20 overs.

The highest individual score by a Delhi Capitals player: Rishabh Pant scored 128* against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018.

The most runs scored by a Delhi Capitals player in a single season: Shikhar Dhawan scored 618 runs in the 2020 season.

The most wickets taken by a Delhi Capitals player in a single season: Kagiso Rabada took 30 wickets in the 2020 season.

The most runs scored by a Delhi Capitals player: Virender Sehwag scored 2,728 runs in 86 matches for Delhi Daredevils.

The most wickets taken by a Delhi Capitals player: Amit Mishra has taken 101 wickets in 91 matches for the team.

The Delhi Capitals have never won the IPL title. Their best finish in the tournament came in 2020 when they finished as runners-up to the Mumbai Indians.

In conclusion, the Delhi Capitals have had a mixed history in the IPL. While the team has struggled to find consistency over the years, they have shown promising signs under the new ownership and coaching staff. With a strong squad and a hunger to win, the Delhi Capitals will be looking to add more records to their name and lift the IPL trophy for the first time in the upcoming seasons.

ICS Image