Header Ads Widget

ICS Image

Cricket Fever: 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Unveiled!


The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup is the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup, a biennial T20I (Twenty20 International) tournament organized by the International Cricket Council. The contestants will be men’s national teams who will be parading their skills in the West Indies and the United States.

The tournament is scheduled for 1 June to 29 June this year. In addition to the West Indies, this will be the first time the ICC World Cup tournament will be played in the US or any other country in the Americas. After defeating Pakistan in the previous edition's final, England is the defending champions.

Cricket Fever: 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Unveiled!

Contestants of the Tournament

20 teams will contest in this tournament which is an addition to 16 teams in 2022. 2024’s World Cup will be the biggest tournament that ICC has organized as it will have 55 matches to be played.

As seen above, this year the tournament will have two hosts. Additionally, eight teams from the previous tournaments qualified automatically. The regional qualification process made a choice of the remaining eight teams. For the first time, the United States which is a co-host, Uganda, and Canada have qualified for the T20 World Cup. You can play your cricket at rummy wealth.


All the 20 qualifying teams will be subdivided into four groups of five teams. The first two teams in each group will graduate to the Super 8 round.

During this stage, the qualifying teams will be divided into two groups of four. And now the leading two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage. This stage has two semi-finals and finals.

Host Selection

The International Cricket Council made an announcement about the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup in November 2022. They announced that it will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States.

Cricket West Indies and USA Cricket submitted a joint bid after preparing for two years. This shows a strategic partnership between the two associations. In its public statement, the ICC hopes to put the USA at the forefront of global cricket by hosting a major competition for the first time.

Teams and Qualification

As seen above the two co-hosts and eight teams from the 2022 tournament qualified automatically for the tournament. The best-ranked team in ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings qualified for the two remaining slots. These are those who had not secured a slot in the finals by 14 November 2022.

The eight remaining slots were filled by the ICC's regional qualifiers. This consisted of two teams from Asia, Europe, and Africa and other teams from East Asia-Pacific and Americas groups. A sub-regional qualification pathway was confirmed by the ICC in May 2022 for Europe, East Asia-Pacific, and Africa.

The first two teams to qualify in July 2023 were Scotland and Ireland. East Asia-Pacific Qualifier and Papua New Guinea followed.

Canada defeated Bermuda in their final match in the Americas Qualifier and qualified in October 2023. In the month that followed Oman and Nepal reached the Asia Qualifier qualified. Namibia and Uganda were the final teams to qualify while Zimbabwe became the only Test playing country that never qualified. You can enjoy your cricket at rummy wealth.

Disclaimer:- Cricket Series or Tournamnets and Match Date, Time and Venue of all cricket teams data has been completed from various sources and by our own research. These data can be approximate and Indiacricketschedule.com makes no claims about the authenticity of the Cricket Series or Tournamnets and Match Date, Time and Venue data. This may change due to many reasons.

Post a Comment